Sit down & have some coffee with me

Picture this…

• • • • •
You, me, dark-wood stumpy tables, armchairs with fluffy pillows, cozy lights gently illuminating our faces, and the smell of coffee inundating our noses. We’re on our coffee date. :]
• • • • •

If we were having coffee right now… I’d tell you that I’m exhausted from revamping my whole blog yesterday. I wanted to change the layout, experimented with several, and ended up just using the same one. Figures, right? I changed my header image. It’s colorful & pretty – makes me happy. Most importantly, I changed my username from ‘ricericebebe’ to ‘petitewise’, and I love it. I think it really suits me. I cleaned things up a bit, published a post on one of my favorite films of all time, and created several drafts that I’ll dive into some other day.

If we were having coffee right now… I’d tell you that I spent all of Saturday geeking out on this: The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows. It is amazing. This guy comes up with a new word for these emotions, these obscure sorrows that you feel in your life, but cannot encapsulate in a single word because there’s no equivalent in the English language. It inspired me to make up my own word, define it, and make it my new WP username. BOOM.

If we were having coffee right now…I’d tell you that yesterday, I listened to a song I haven’t heard in years. I remembered every single word, and I burst into tears singing it out loud. If you’re curious, the song is ‘4am’ by Our Lady Peace. I discovered this song (and this band) in high school, a very painful time for me. I always think of my father when I hear this song. He & I would’ve been great friends, if I’d had the chance to grow up with him. And no, he’s not dead. I just grew up with my mother all my life, and haven’t seen him in over 10 years. I don’t know the guy, and I guess I still have a chip on my shoulder about it. I hope I get to visit him in the Philippines soon.

Thank you for going on a much-needed coffee date with me and listening. I hope we do this again soon.

–ღ, ts


DAY 11 ASSIGNMENT: Update Your Readers with a Cup of Coffee

No matter what type of blog you have, it’s sometimes necessary to post updates: from project news to personal messages about what’s going on in your life. One creative approach to an update post is a “virtual coffee date,” as seen on Kate Goes Global, which is like catching up with an old friend over a cup of coffee.

In her post, Kate begins each paragraph with If we were having coffee right now… and then adds a detail. You can share any details you’d like and include as many as you want, as long as you begin each with If we were having coffee right now… (or a variation of this phrase, as seen on Girl with the Red Hair).

It’s a simple idea, but offers a bit more structure to your post — and is a lot more fun. So today, write an update post in the form of a virtual coffee date.

6 thoughts on “Sit down & have some coffee with me

  1. Wow I really enjoyed your post! I can honestly say that me and writing, is probably not going to get this good :P. I really liked the coffee date you are having here. I am sorry to hear about your high school experience, and about your Dad. My growing up was, pretty painful in school, and it seems like it’s like that with everyone here. It’s a shame. They could have been nicer and still have a friend like me. Our Lady Peace is freaking awesome! Closer was a little weird for me, but I did like Clive Owen and Natalie Portman’s performances. Julia Roberts was, a little off, when she started describing sex things to her husband. I have never heard her, talk like that. Pretty awesome! I need to check out Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows!

    Like

    1. Hmm. There’s gotta be a correlation between painful high-school experience and blogging later in life. Haha. More sensitive = more awesome? I think so. 🙂 And thank you, for what you said! I enjoy blogging – it’s involving and cathartic. Yes, Closer is a strange movie, I agree! And for sure, that role was quite different for Julia Roberts. At least, different from what I’m used to seeing her in. And yes, I think you’ll appreciate the Dictionary of Sorrows!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s just that, I see a lot of feeling being poured into these blog pages, from different people. And I can’t help but notice that it’s filled with emotions that, I never hear people say out loud. Like, the recesses of the mind, pour into the digital paper. And it almost sounds like something that is private; but you want to share it with the world. Come into my world; I get that a lot from the blogs. I’ve certainly done more in depth look into myself to post on the blogs, than I’ve ever done.

        Like

          1. It’s funny how I say I don’t write and BOOM! Hehehe. I guess it’s like all things, you need to do it more and it because easier. I am limited with vocabulary, so words are a little more limited than writers or experienced bloggers, with a larger vocabulary than mine. My fear is sounding too basic. But I know here, I can learn more and more. Thank you for the compliment :).

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

