Move south for this winter

Move south for this winter
Your skin, unclothed and bare
Cemented in disgrace, you are a statue lingering
Surrounded by threadbare branches
My advice to you is this: move south for this winter

Move south for this winter
Spring, a more forgiving element
You’ll find relief then
For in this frost hums a pointing finger
My advice to you is this: move south for this winter

Move south for this winter
For nothing lives on ‘cept in memory
Crisp and sure, phantom limbs remain
Reincarnating unacknowledged
My advice to you is this: move south for this winter

***

I moved south for this winter
And all I found were cracks in the ground
Languid and lame, the heat like devils on my brow
Rubbing friction and bleeding sweat
My advice to you is this: remain in the north and confront the cold

***

ae74ddd11cd4fef74f6b77a6c2d17649

Leave a Reply

